The Dog Ate My Care Plan…

Just a mom/wife/nursing student extraordinaire trying to make it in the big bad city…

Ape to Man

Posted by isntshelovlei on August 28, 2010

My books arrived from Amazon.com yesterday. Now I’m starting to get the pre-semester jitters. I already felt like I was hanging on by a thread this past summer—I was (am?) beyond burnt out. But I know I need to start taking better care of ME and just push through it. 

It’s also a little disturbing to see how much our cohort has dwindled over these past three semesters. We started out with two classes of about 35 students each. We lost a couple here and there for various reasons, but after pharmacology this summer we’re down to about 40 students—TOTAL. The two sections of our cohort have now been combined into one class. With 4 more semesters to go, it kind of makes you wonder if that person sitting next to you now will walk with you at commencment.  Nursing school really is survival of the fittest.

Though class doesn’t officially start until Monday, I was glad to see that our professor (well one of them anyway) posted the syllabus and the powerpoints on Blackboard early. I like to (try to) read the chapters before the actual lecture so I can halfway know what’s going on. It’s hard to sit still for three hours when you have no clue what the instructor is talking about. But when you don’t get the syllabus until the first day of class you’re already behind in the reading.

So back to the books it is. As Erykah Badu says, “They sleep. We grind.”

4 Responses to “Ape to Man”

  1. Deep breath …. have a great semester. Add alternate nostril breathing to the sleeping & grinding …it will make a difference! One day at a time…

    • isntshelovlei said

      Thanks!! I’m trying to get organized and stay ahead of the game.

      I’ve also discovered the AmbiScience/Tesla apps for iPhone–LOVE them. The sleep ones are good for those much needed power naps and I listen to “brown noise” with the “focus” entrainment while I read/study–love it!

  2. Kim said

    Now you’re making me want to ask about the attrition rate at my school. Except I really don’t want to know.

    • isntshelovlei said

      A couple students didn’t outright fail out, but may have switched to the day program or took a semester off or something. But still, it’s definitely something that makes you say “hmmm…”

      Sent from my iPhone 4

Leave a Reply

 
